top of page

Home stay in Hiroshima

On the first day of the home stay we left Kokutaiji High School and went to the house. Then at night my host mom and sister went to the super market. That night I had Oden for the first time for dinner and it was really good! My host mother made so much delicious food throughout the home stay. After dinner, I played Wii with my host father and my host sister, Ayaka, joined in later. After playing a few games, we went to sleep. I used to have a Wii but it broke so it was really fun playing with the family. The next day I had oyako donburi for breakfast. I've had a lot of oyako dons before but that was the best oyako don I've ever tasted. It had chicken and egg and carrots and onions. After breakfast, we went to a Japanese garden and to an art museum. The garden was beautiful and the art museum was really interesting. We then went home to eat lunch. For lunch there were mashed potatoes with carrots and ham and mayo. There was also lettuce and tomatoes and udon. I also had yogurt and fruits. There were always fruits and veggies during meals. Afterwards we went to the top parking lot floor of Costco and watched some of a baseball game. It was amazing! We also walked around the baseball stadium and went to another free watching spot. We then went to one of the largest shopping malls in Hiroshima and we took pictures in a photo booth and drew on them. Then we went back to the house and ate dinner. Dinner was gyoza which I was able to make it with them. It was also the best gyoza I've ever had! There was also chicken and rice and miso soup! That night we talked about my family and their family, and Ayaka, her sister, and I talked about music. It was really exciting finding out about what Japanese and American artists they like and which artists we liked in common. The next day we went to the zoo. There were tons of animals I've never seen before and I was really happy going because I hadn't been to a zoo in years. Lunch was croissants and bread with egg and I had oolong tea. It was simple but still extremely good! After the zoo, we went to a shopping street called Hondori St. and looked around. Then we went back to Kokutaiji High School and said goodbye to them and they gave me little letters. I miss them so much!!! I had a lot of fun with them and it felt like I spent a month there instead of three days. I don't ever want to forget about the time I spent with them. Before staying over at their house, I was very nervous about the home stay. Looking back at it now, this was one of the best experiences/opportunities I've had.

Making Gyoza with the host family.

Hiroshima Zoo.

Megan is wearing her school uniform!

Having fun with her host sister.

Hiroshima Carp Baseball Stadium

I love my host family!

It is hard to say good-bye...

Group picture with the entire host families.

Until we see each other again....


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page